AURORA!!!!!

Late last night I went a wandering outside again, noticing the sky was clear and the stars were bright. I went for a short walk not to far from the base to have a look upwards. I’d been stood outside for a short while, letting my eyes adjust to the night and I saw a few shooting stars and a few satelites. Then, slowly the Milky Way became more and more visible and then, looking to the south, I saw a big shadow on the horizon with a slightly green strip above it. As I watched it became clearer and clearer and YES- it was aurora time! Yay! I got on the radio and told the other folk on base, set my tripod up and took some shots.

Aurora over halley, Antarctica

The first one wasn’t in too good a position but that is my first real atempt at taking a picture of the southern lights, I then went behind the base to try and get Halley VI in the foreground and managed to get some pretty good photos of the sky, with the milky way and the Auroa Australis!
If you look carefully on a few of the pictures you can see satelites amongst the stars- faint lines of light, because of long exposures with the camera.

Aurora over Halley, Antarctica

Aurora over Halley, Antarctica

Aurora over Halley, Antarctica

Aurora over Halley, Antarctica

Aurora over Halley, Antarctica

Aurora over Halley, Antarctica

Aurora over Halley, Antarctica

Aurora over Halley, Antarctica

I was pretty chuffed with my first attempt. My house and it’s garden aren pretty impressive sometimes.

Leave a Reply

