My new House

This post is for my Mum, who wants to see what my home down here is like. Here are some pics of my room and the base – the photos were taken as I approached the base for the first time after I left the ship, it’s pretty weird seeing your new home from about 15km away, and it gets more and more impressive (and weird) as you get closer. I was starting to lose the plot after two and a half hours into the journey from the ship so the weirdness was maybe worse for me. After packing our bags onto the sledge everyone got into the snow cat for the ride up, I’d heard someone say how we had it easy and they had to ride up on the sledge. So, challenge accepted. I did the 3 and a bit hour trip on the back of a sledge. Started off okay but by the third hour I was hurting.       It’s cold you know, in Antarctica.

Anyway, some pictures of me house:

Seeing Halley for the first time

Seeing Halley for the first time

halley far3

My new home, Halley 6

My new home, Halley 6

halley lounge

Halley lounge

Halley Lounge

Halley Lounge

Halley Lounge

Halley Lounge

Halley cinema

Halley cinema

halley cinema

Halley cinema

my office

my office

Halley gym

Halley gym

Hallley dining room

Halley dining room

Halley Dining room

My Halley bedroom

me bedroom

me bedroom

IMG_0033

My Photo Wall – looking sparse at the moment. If you have some nice pictures of home email em in! Nice pictures of moors and trees. Or anything else you think I might be missing. Need to make this house a home!

Got some more pictures to post up shortly but as ever it’s a nightmare uploading pictures.

All in all it’s a pretty cool place to live!

5 thoughts on “My new House

  1. Looks very nice; good to see the fridge is well stocked!

  2. That is awesome! Your place looks a lot snazzier than I expected Antarctic lodgings to be. Happy housewarming!

  3. I am liking the big bag of Yorkshire tea, at least you will have some home comforts around you! You will soon get used to the cold, we have in Canada! ps, I know your Mom from way way back when we were younger than you! Good luck down there and enjoy the experience!

  4. Cheers Janelle and Ray. It’s a fairly nice old place to live all in all! It’s all shiny and new at the moment but we’ve all tried to bring some home comforts to take the edge off. Getting outside in the pyramid tents things become a lot more primative!

  5. Thanks Chrissie, the big bag of Yorkshire tea was one of the first things to be packed, can’t be without a proper brew, even living on an ice shelf. Yup, it gets normal after a bit, outside working in -30 today!
    I’ll tell my mum you said Hi!

Leave a Reply

